Four to the fore?

AARON Summers has admitted it would be “awesome” to bring a trophy back to Glasgow from tomorrow’s Championship Fours final.

The Tigers, who have never won the event, made a shock exit at the semi-final stage last year when the competition was split over two days.

Club captain Summers was the man in the spotlight, coming last in his final race when he only needed a point.

But the 2017 format sees all the races being held in one day at Peterborough’s East of England Showground, and Summers is determined to put things right.

And he says Plymouth’s victory last year, despite being outsiders, shows anyone can take the title on the day – despite one of the most competitive fields the event has ever seen.

He said: “Plymouth were probably the underdogs last year and look at where they finished up – so hopefully we can do a little bit better than we did there in our league meeting – but we’ll just have to see.

“I struggled there in our league meeting, so hopefully I can do a bit better this time. I’ve just got an engine back and it seems to be working.

“If we can get some silverware out of it, it would be awesome, to bring our first bit back of the season.”

Summers is joined by fellow heatleaders Richie Worrall and Richard Lawson, and the in-form Nike Lunna, for the contest – with Dan Bewley in reserve.

The meeting starts at 2pm and all 10 Championship clubs are involved.

The line-up, courtesy of the Speedway GB website, is as follows:

PETERBOROUGH: Jack Holder, Chris Harris, Paul Starke, Ulrich Ostergaard (reserve: Bradley Wilson-Dean).
EDINBURGH: Sam Masters, Erik Riss, Ricky Wells, Theo Pijper (reserve: Josh Pickering).
SHEFFIELD: Josh Grajczonek, Josh Bates, Kyle Howarth, Lasse Bjerre (reserve: Todd Kurtz).
WORKINGTON: Craig Cook, Ty Proctor, Thomas Jorgensen, Mason Campton (reserve: Matt Williamson).
SCUNTHORPE: Michael Palm Toft, Lewis Kerr, Ryan Douglas, Josh Auty (reserve: TBC).
GLASGOW: Richard Lawson, Aaron Summers, Ricky Worrall, Nike Lunna (reserve: Dan Bewley).
NEWCASTLE: Robert Lambert, Steve Worrall, Stuart Robson, Ludvig Lindgren (reserve: Ashley Morris).
IPSWICH: Danny King, Rory Schlein, Cameron Heeps, Kyle Newman (reserve: Justin Sedgmen).
REDCAR: Jason Garrity, Charles Wright, Ben Barker, Jonas B Andersen (reserve: Ellis Perks).
BERWICK: David Howe, Jye Etheridge, Kevin Doolan, Dany Gappmaier (reserve: TBC).