Summers sees his chance to shine

Aaron Summers

AARON Summers says he jumped at the chance to take on the league’s top riders – now he wants to beat them all around his home track.

The Glasgow skipper didn’t make the original line-up for the Championship Riders’ Individual when it was rained off a few weeks ago.

But the Australian has stepped in after a couple of riders from other clubs suffered injuries, and will join fellow home riders Richard Lawson and Richie Worrall in a star-studded field bidding to win one of the sports’ most prestigious titles.

The event takes place at the Peugeot Ashfield Stadium at 7pm tomorrow and features the likes of 2018 Grand Prix rider Craig Cook and World Championship stalwart Chris Harris.

Summers said: “I didn’t think I was going to be in the meeting so it was good to get the call.

“My performances in the middle of the season didn’t really help my cause in qualifying for the meeting – so I was a bit gutted not to be in the original line-up – but now I’ve got my chance and I want to take it.

“I haven’t done many of these meetings at all. I think I’ve done one before but that was a while ago now.

“I know my way around Ashfield and with the way the last couple of meetings have gone, I don’t see why I can’t go out and show what I’m capable of.

“I’ve had a good run in the last week or so, I’ve tweaked things to improve the performance of the bike and hopefully can keep that going with the meetings we’ve got left.

“Obviously certain teams have injuries to their riders but you still have a lot of the top riders in our league so it’s going to be tough.

“But that does make it more of a challenge – there are no easy races, that’s for sure.”

Sixteen riders take part in the meeting, including former Glasgow star Nick Morris, Edinburgh’s Sam Masters and Ricky Wells, former British Champion Danny King, and Richie Worrall’s twin Steve.

Then on Sunday, Glasgow travel to Peterborough for the first leg of their KO Cup semi-final, with the second leg at home on Tuesday.

The full line-up for tomorrow’s event is:

  1. Steve Worrall (Newcastle)
  2. Aaron Summers (Glasgow)
  3. Josh Auty (Scunthorpe)
  4. Ricky Wells (Edinburgh)
  5. Danny King (Ipswich)
  6. Nick Morris (Berwick)
  7. Chris Harris (Peterborough)
  8. Jan Graversen (Sheffield)
  9. Michael Palm Toft (Scunthorpe)
  10. Craig Cook (Workington)
  11. Richard Lawson (Glasgow)
  12. Sam Masters (Edinburgh)
  13. Richie Worrall (Glasgow)
  14. Stuart Robson (Newcastle)
  15. Ben Barker (Redcar)
  16. Jack Holder (Peterborough)